Contact Us Calendar Campus Map Social Mashup
Accepted Students Parents & Families Alumni Students, Faculty & Staff (My NEC)

Useful Websites

Websites chosen by the librarians and sorted by subject area

New Hampshire State Website (http://www.nh.gov/): for access to NH laws, rules, state department information and content, education, business, employment, and tourism information

General Reference
Calculators ( http://www.martindalecenter.com/Calculators.html )
Currency Converter (http://www.oanda.com/convert/classic)
Online Conversion Center ( http://www.onlineconversion.com/ )
How to Choose an Online Search Engine ( http://www.internettutorials.net/choose.asp )
Famous Quotes ( http://www.famousquotesandauthors.com/ )
Guiness Book of World Records (http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/)
Infomine ( http://infomine.ucr.edu/ )
Intute (http://www.intute.ac.uk/)

The Humanities (Art, Art History, Lit/Comparative Lit, Poetry, Writing, English)
Art History: Resources for the Study ( http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html )
Mother of All Art History Sites ( http://www.art-design.umich.edu/mother/ )
Great Books Online ( http://www.bartleby.com/ )
English Server ( http://eserver.org/ )
Internet Classics ( http://classics.mit.edu/ )
Project Gutenberg ( http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page )
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy ( http://plato.stanford.edu/ )
World Digital Library ( http://www.wdl.org/en/ )

Biology/Environmental Science `
Renewable Energy Policy Project ( http://www.repp.org/ )
Scientific Commons (http://www.scientificcommons.org/)
US Environmental Protection Agency ( http://www.epa.gov/ )
USGS Biology ( http://biology.usgs.gov/ )

Business/Business Administration/ Advertising/Marketing/Communications
American Association of Advertising Agencies: Research Essentials  (http://www.aaaa.org/agency/pubs/NewEssentials/Pages/default.aspx )

 

Better Business Bureau (http://www.bbb.org/)
Bureau of Labor Statistics ( http://www.bls.gov/ )
Consumer Search ( http://www.consumersearch.com/ )
Foreign Trade Statistics ( http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www/ )
Management Library (http://managementhelp.org/)
US Securities and Exchange Commission ( http://www.sec.gov/ )

Education
Higher Education Research Institute ( http://www.heri.ucla.edu/ )
MERLOT (http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm)
National Center for Education Statistics (http://nces.ed.gov/)
US Department of Education ( www.ed.gov )

History/Women’s Studies
American Memory Project at the Library of Congress ( http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html )
ACRL Women’s Studies Section ( http://libr.org/wss/wsslinks/index.html )
Biographical Dictionary (http://www.s9.com/)
The History Guide ( http://www.historyguide.org/resources.html )
Marxist Library (http://www.marxists.org/)
Women’s Hall of Fame ( http://www.greatwomen.org/women.php )
World Digital Library (World Digital Library ( http://www.wdl.org/en/ )

Public Policy/Government/Law/Criminal Justice
NH Law Library Research Online  The NH Law Library in Concord is open to the public.
Avalon Project (http://avalon.law.yale.edu/)
CIA World Factbook (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/)
Country Studies (http://rs6.loc.gov/frd/cs/)
First Gov ( http://www.usa.gov/ )
GPO Access (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/)
FBI’s Uniform Crime Reports ( http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm )

World Criminal Justice Library Network (http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~wcjlen/WCJ/mainpages/cjlinks.htm)
NATO ( http://www.nato.int/cps/en/natolive/index.htm )
National Center for Charitable Statistics ( http://nccs.urban.org/ )
OECD (http://www.oecd.org/home/0,2987,en_2649_201185_1_1_1_1_1,00.html)
On the Issues ( http://www.ontheissues.org/default.htm )
THOMAS (http://thomas.loc.gov/)
World Health Organization Statistics Information System ( http://www.who.int/whosis/en/ )
United Nations (http://www.un.org/)

Psychology/Sociology
American Psychological Association ( http://www.apa.org/ )
American Sociological Association (http://www.asanet.org/)
AmeobaWeb Psychology Directory ( http://www.vanguard.edu/faculty/ddegelman/amoebaweb/ )
Pew Internet and American Life Project (http://www.pewinternet.org/)
Social Psychology Network ( http://www.socialpsychology.org/ )
Social Science Research Network ( http://www.ssrn.com/ )
SocioSite’s Guide to Sociologists ( http://www.sociosite.net/topics/sociologists.php )

Sports/Phys Ed/Recreation

American Sports Institute ( http://www.amersports.org/ ): A site with government documents, trade publications and other information about American sports.
Sports Reference (http://www.sports-reference.com/)
The Kinesiology Network ( http://www.kinesiology.net/ )
National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association ( http://www.nirsa.org//AM/Template.cfm?Section=Welcome )

United States Department of Health and Human Services (http://www.hhs.gov/)

by Hanrahan/Penrod — last modified Dec 10, 2012 03:56 PM